The Michael Prize will be officially awarded at the International Epilepsy Congress. The prize winners also present their research results in a separate lecture within the scope of the scientific program. The "Michael Lectures" have become a permanent and well-respected part of the international congresses.


Michael Lecture 2019

Dr. Birgit Frauscher:
"Sleep, Oscillations, and background EEG in human focal epilepsy"

PhD Stéphanie Baulac:
"Navigating from germline to somatic mutations in the mTOR pathway landscape"

[33. International Epilepsy Congress 2019, Bangkok]


Michael Lecture 2017

Dr. Boris Bernhardt:
"Neuroimaging and connectome analysis of temporal lobe epilepsy: from hippocampal subfields to large-scale networks"

[32. International Epilepsy Congress 2017, Barcelona]


Michael Lecture 2015

Dr. Jeanne Paz:
"Closed loop optogenetic control of epileptic seizures"

[31. International Epilepsy Congress 2015, Istanbul]


Michael Lecture 2011

Dr. Eleonora Aronica:
"Focal Lesions in human epilepsy: a molecular and neuropathological perspective"

[29. International Epilepsy Congress 2011, Rome]


Michael Lecture 2009

Dr. Hrissanthi Ikonomidou:
"Antiepileptic Drugs and the Developing Brain"


Dr. Ivan Soltesz:
"Epileptogenesis in Carbon and Silicon Brains"

[28. International Epilepsy Congress 2009, Budapest]

  • Michael Lecture
    Hrissanthi Ikonomidou, Ivan Soltesz, 2009
  • Michael Lecture
    Birgit Frauscher, Stéphanie Baulac, 2019
  • Michael Lecture
    Boris Bernhardt, 2017
  • Michael Lecture
    Jeanne Paz, 2015
  • Michael Lecture
    Ding Ding, 2013
  • Michael Lecture
    Eleonora Aronica, 2011