From 2023 the MICHAEL PRIZE will be awarded to three winners!

In the past, every two years 3 categories were named as fields of research, from which papers/publications could be considered for an award. Although this led to a broader range of applications, as desired, it also had as result that only one prize could be awarded at a time (even if it was sometimes shared) although many excellent applications had been submitted.

After careful consideration, the Board of Trustees, therefore, has now decided on the one hand to leave it at the 2-year cycle, but on the other hand, starting with the 2023 MICHAEL PRIZE, to award three prizes, one in each of three given categories. Each of the three prizes is endowed with € 15,000.

The MICHAEL PRIZE 2023 in its new and innovative version is kindly sponsored by UCB Biopharma S.P.R.L., which has graciously sponsored the award since 2006.


Awarded for the first time in 1963 to encourage epilepsy research in Germany, today the MICHAEL PRIZE is one of the most highly regarded international awards for the best scientific contribution to progress in the field of epileptology.

The MICHAEL PRIZE is awarded every other year, at the occasion of the International Epilepsy Congress, to young researchers who have not yet reached the age of 45 years.

Since 1963 (internationally since 1978), 76 researchers coming from 18 countries received the MICHAEL PRIZE. The list of award winners reads like the "who is who" of epileptology. Receiving the MICHAEL PRIZE as a recognition of their work is an important milestone for renowned researchers from Germany and abroad. It is also a motivation for them to continue their research.

MICHAEL PRIZE 2023 Award Winners:

MD, PhD Piero Perucca
Melbourne (Australia)

in the category
Pharmacology and pharmacotherapy

MD, PhD Daichi Sone
Tokyo (Japan)

in the category
Psychiatry, psychology and neuropsychology

PhD Gabriele Lignani
London (UK)

in the category
Experimental epilepsy research


To ensure adequate consideration of the multiple aspects of epileptology the Board of Trustees has defined 9 fields of research. These include
  • Clinical epileptology (neurology, neuropediatrics, neurosurgery)
  • Clinical neurophysiology
  • Epilepsy genetics
  • Experimental epilepsy research
  • Neuroimaging
  • Neuropathology
  • Pharmacology and pharmacotherapy
  • Psychiatry, psychology and neuropsychology
  • Public health and social science

Relative to these fields, the prize is from 2023 onwards, in biennial rotation, awarded in three categories each of which is endowed with € 15000.

the competition is open for the categories
  • Neurology, neuropediatrics, neurosurgery
  • Public health, social sciences
  • Imaging.
the competition is open for the categories
  • Genetics
  • Clinical neurophysiology
  • Neuropathology.

Since 2006, the MICHAEL PRIZE is generously sponsored by UCB Biopharma SRL.

The submitted applications will be rated by an independent jury consisting of:

Eleonora Aronica, Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
Yushi Inoue, Shizuoka (Japan)
Jean Gotman, Montreal (Canada)

The final decision will be taken by the Board of Trustees of the MICHAEL FOUNDATION. Legal recourse is excluded.


Alsstrasse 12
53227 Bonn

Phone:   +49 228 - 94 55 45 40
Fax:         +49 228 - 94 55 45 42
E-mail: poststiftung-michael.de